Capital Territory - Abbey Travel, Ireland

Capital Territory


Begin Your Search

    • 16+ yrs

    • 12-15 yrs

    • 2-11 yrs

    • 0-23 mnth

Found Item

Welcome to Capital Territory

Capital Territory

The Australian Capital Territory (ACT) was created as a compromise; both Sydney and Melbourne thought that they should be Australia's capital city and the authorities decided that the only answer was to create a new city, within its own territory, between the two rivals. ACT is landlocked in the mountainous state of south-eastern New South Wales; Sydney is 190 miles (306km) to the northwest. The territory is tiny by Australian standards; it is 50 miles (80km) from north to south and about 20 miles (30km) wide. The capital city, Canberra, and its surrounding suburbs are in the northeast of the territory and surrounded by the artificial Lake Burley Griffin; the parliament and other government buildings are located to the south of the lake, and in the north is Civic, where visitors will find the university, the main shopping and business district and most of the nightlife, which, contrary to reputation, is fairly lively. The Namadgi National Park occupies the whole southwestern area of the Territory.

} ());
ACCEPT COOKIESTo give you the best possible experience, this site uses cookies. Using this site means you agree to our use of cookies. We have published a cookies policy, which you should read to find out more about the cookies we use. View cookies policy.